It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 6:04 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: NP W-3 2-8-2 1762 (SP&S 539)
PostPosted: Fri May 29, 2015 5:38 pm 

Now that RDG 2100 has been brought much, much closer to home rails, I started thinking about other locos that are far from home. The first one to come to mind was NP W-3 2-8-2 1762, later SP&S 539. She is the last surviving NP 2-8-2, the largest surviving NP steam locomotive, and the only surviving SP&S 2-8-2. Currently, she is on display in the unlikely location of Williams, Arizona. Some time ago I heard that she was for sale, but I don't know whether that is, or ever was, true.

Before I continue, I would like to acknowledge that I have no personal knowledge of the resources or motivations of other potential venues for this locomotive, either as an operating locomotive or as a cosmetic display. Maybe my suggestions are impractical for one reason or another. However, it does seem that some other location would be a more natural fit.

Some possible alternative locations would be:
1. Northern Pacific Railway Museum in Toppenish, WA
2. Oregon Rail Heritage Center in Portland, OR
3. Minnesota Transportation Museum in St. Paul, MN
4. Lake Superior Railroad Museum in Duluth, MN

There may be other suitable locations as well.

Opinions?

Tom

Post subject: Re: NP W-3 2-8-2 1762 (SP&S 539)
PostPosted: Fri May 29, 2015 8:53 pm 

I doubt she's for sale now. If its any consolation, their crew I is or was) in the middle of a cosmetic restoration. There was a picture floating around, but i have no clue where it is now...

PostPosted: Fri May 29, 2015 9:49 pm 

Location: Somewhere east of Prescott, AZ along the old Santa Fe "Prescott & Eastern"
An official of the GCRY has been known to lurk here, and at least one of us can locate him if necessary..