It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 5:47 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Diesel Maintenance
PostPosted: Mon Jan 08, 2018 2:02 am 

I've been working as a diesel mechanic for about 8 months now at a leasing/rental company. I've been wondering what it was like to work on trains since that was the original reason I went to tech school. I mostly work on tractors (semis) and box trucks, if that helps any.

Since this is a broad subject, I'll add questions to help sort out my curiosity, although anything would be of interest!

1. If you've worked on both trucks (or cars) and trains, how would you compare them?

2. Is there a certain procedure for pulling a locomotive into a shop? Trucks are usually driven or towed in and wheels chalked. A lock-out/tag-out pouch is placed on the driver side door with the keys placed inside for safety reasons.

3. Is there a set preventative maintenance inspection procedure and how often is it?

4. Are there any scheduled repairs/filter changes not performed during a PM?

5. What are some of the common issues that appear? (leaks, part failure, etc.)

6. Anyone have any good stories to share?

Thanks for the help! :)

Post subject: Re: Diesel Maintenance
PostPosted: Mon Jan 08, 2018 9:05 am 

My suggestion to you would be to find a local operating museum preferably one that runs excursions with their own power and volunteer.

I think you will find that locomotive maintenece is quite a bit different then truck fleet maintenece. Most PMs and such are set up around a 92 day schedule regardless of how many miles that is. Of course there are other checks that are done more frequently.

PostPosted: Mon Jan 08, 2018 11:43 am