It is currently Sun Dec 16, 2018 11:29 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Shipping a locomotive by truck
PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2010 1:13 pm 

Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2010 12:31 pm
Posts: 15
Greetings all,

Do you think a locomotive such as an F-7 or an RS-3 cound be moved a few hundred miles and delivered to a private property that had good access to a major highway?

Or, let me phrase my question this way, what's the largest size locomotive (tonnage or size) that could reasonably be transported by truck?

Thanks, -Jason


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Shipping a locomotive by truck
PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2010 1:40 pm 

Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2004 11:06 pm
Posts: 212
Location: Bendena KS
I think the answer to your question depends alot on what part of the country you are in, and of course how much money you are willing to spend. In local moves around Colorado I have moved a 92 ton GE diesel intact as well as a pair of EG 70 ton diesels and a Baldwin 2-8-0 standard gauge steam locomotive. Long distance moves I know of have included a 50 Porter diesel from Pennsylvania to Colorado (around $15,000 in shipping costs) and the move of SP 1744 (a steam locomotive) from New Orleans to Alamosa Colorado (shipping costs around $60,000). The move might get easier if you are able to take the lcomotive apart to reduce weight. That said, anything is possible if you have enough cash to spendon the endevaour.

Jason Midyette


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Shipping a locomotive by truck
PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2010 1:41 pm 

Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2004 7:19 am
Posts: 5550
Location: southeastern USA
Been done and lots of bigger and heavier special loads have been moved. What it will cost dependent on circumstances.

dave

_________________
Santayana: "He who does not remember the past is condemned to repeat it."
Corollary: "He who does is doomed to watch those who don't repeat it anyway."


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Shipping a locomotive by truck
PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2010 3:15 pm 

Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 9:42 pm
Posts: 2553
I just watched a TV show last night where they moved an entire country church, with steeple, something like 50 miles across the prairie. Of course that was a rather involved move, lots of coordination and cubic dollars involved.

I've also see UPRR move wreck damaged locomotives by truck, and it wasn't much of a big deal at all, I think they just used pilot cars. As other have mentioned, your particular circumstances will determine your situation, and one narrow bridge or low overpass can complicate things immensely.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Shipping a locomotive by truck
PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2010 3:50 pm 

Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2004 7:58 am
Posts: 728
Quote:
Greetings all,
Do you think a locomotive such as an F-7 or an RS-3 cound be moved a few hundred miles and delivered to a private property that had good access to a major highway?
Or, let me phrase my question this way, what's the largest size locomotive (tonnage or size) that could reasonably be transported by truck?
Thanks, -Jason


They certainly can, but you'll need to scout very carefully for low bridges, low wires, sharp vertical curves, and bridges with low weight restrictions. If you're in open country with low population the chances improve.

Over that distance you may well need to do a flat car move to the nearest unloading point, and truck from there.

It's not cheap, it's challenging, but failing an insurmountable obstacle, it can definitely be done.

We've moved plenty of passenger and freight cars, a 4-6-0 and tender, a two story duplex section house in the past, and will be moving a snowplow fifty miles this fall. The plow's cupola will have to come off to clear low wires all along the route.

http://public.fotki.com/elliottd/sfrmeo/sfrmeo8/

Steve Hunter
Cardinal, Ontario


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Shipping a locomotive by truck
PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2010 5:03 pm 

Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2004 3:37 pm
Posts: 1105
Location: Pacific, MO
Didn't I see a UP 800 class 4-8-4 being moved via truck a few years back? That's pretty serious.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Shipping a locomotive by truck
PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2010 6:31 pm 

Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 9:42 pm
Posts: 2553
Not sure if it's the one you're thinking of, but they moved a 4-8-8-4 in 2005.
http://www.railpictures.net/viewphoto.php?id=97800

However, it wasn't really "by truck" so much as by heavy duty rubber tired moving equipment. They can move just about anything with that stuff, I've seen video of a 5 story brick building being moved and also turned while being relocated.

However, you won't like what that kind of gear costs. Ideally, the move would be done with regular low-boy trailers or the like, so that the costs weren't astronomical.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Shipping a locomotive by truck
PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2010 7:16 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2010 12:24 am
Posts: 272
Location: H2O-town, CT
It would likely be alot easier if it could be partially dismantled for the move, of course that would be several trucks though. Separate the trucks and prime mover for the journey.

Don't know the condition of the private property it would be moved to but an access road for these trucks may have to be built or current access modified (trees trimmed, ect) for this.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Shipping a locomotive by truck
PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2010 8:47 pm 

Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2004 3:37 pm
Posts: 1105
Location: Pacific, MO
Seems to me like it was out in SLC or that area and it was suspended somehow. Sounds nutz I know. Of course, I'm old and maybe am dreaming.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Shipping a locomotive by truck
PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2010 10:20 pm 

Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2004 7:52 am
Posts: 1491
Location: Strasburg, PA
JasonB wrote:
Greetings all,

Do you think a locomotive such as an F-7 or an RS-3 cound be moved a few hundred miles and delivered to a private property that had good access to a major highway?

Or, let me phrase my question this way, what's the largest size locomotive (tonnage or size) that could reasonably be transported by truck?

Thanks, -Jason

A lot depends on where the locomotive is in the country, a lot more can be moved by truck west of the Mississippi than can be moved in the East, and where specifically where the locomotive needs to be moved from and to. Just one under strength bridge or one low overpass may make an otherwise smooth move of many miles unworkable. The only way to know for sure is to ask a super-hauling professional.

Frisco1522 wrote:
Didn't I see a UP 800 class 4-8-4 being moved via truck a few years back? That's pretty serious.

Yes, the #833 (?) was moved from a park in Salt Lake to the museum in Ogden (about 35 miles) right up I-15. The trailer took up all three lanes.

_________________
"It was not easy to convince Allnutt. All his shop training had given him a profound prejudice against inexact work, experimental work, hit-or-miss work."
C. S. Forester

Strasburg Rail Road Mechanical Department


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Shipping a locomotive by truck
PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2010 11:20 pm 

Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 8:03 pm
Posts: 934
Location: Warszawa, Polska
Intermountain Rigging and HeavyHaul moved UP 833. Here are some photos of the move, and the rig.

http://southern.railfan.net/road/833/road-well.html

I believe they were one of bidders for the contract to move 6213 in 2009.

_________________
CNR 6167 in Guelph, ON or "How NOT To Restore A Steam Locomotive"


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Shipping a locomotive by truck
PostPosted: Fri Aug 13, 2010 8:03 am 

Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2004 3:45 pm
Posts: 167
Location: Hudson Valley, NY
The Catskill Mountain Railroad posted a series of photos documenting the processes involved in of the former Staten Island Rapid Transit S1 #407 by truck to Mount Tremper, NY:

Photo series begins with this page of the loading in Staten Island, and continues chronologically forward:
http://photos.greatrails.net/show/?orde ... ntain%20RR

Delivery to the CMRR is documented a number of pages later:
http://photos.greatrails.net/show/?orde ... ntain%20RR

_________________
John Isaksen


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Shipping a locomotive by truck
PostPosted: Fri Aug 13, 2010 9:01 am 

Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2004 9:54 pm
Posts: 106
Location: Lehigh Valley, PA
Having moved several pieces of railway equipment by truck over the years, it usually comes down to weight and height, weight being the bigger problem. The lower the better. Remove whatever you can easily remove. Trucks, air tanks, fuel tanks, steps, even couplers. You can inspect those pieces while apart.

Also, check out the link to see what could happen, even using "professional" equipment and people. An 80-ton GE centercab on a trailer coming detached from the neck and skidding into an interstate highway bridge isn't something I would want to deal with. Moving any oversize load requires skill.

http://www.wlwt.com/r/16344073/detail.html


Rob


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Shipping a locomotive by truck
PostPosted: Fri Aug 13, 2010 9:44 am 

Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2004 7:52 am
Posts: 1491
Location: Strasburg, PA
joe6167 wrote:
Intermountain Rigging and HeavyHaul moved UP 833. Here are some photos of the move, and the rig.

http://southern.railfan.net/road/833/road-well.html

I believe they were one of bidders for the contract to move 6213 in 2009.

Thanks for posting the link to the photos. I wonder if the "oversize load" banner on the tractor was really necessary for that move.

_________________
"It was not easy to convince Allnutt. All his shop training had given him a profound prejudice against inexact work, experimental work, hit-or-miss work."
C. S. Forester

Strasburg Rail Road Mechanical Department


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Shipping a locomotive by truck
PostPosted: Fri Aug 13, 2010 6:20 pm 

Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 10:25 am
Posts: 121
If you need help shipping rail equipment our new logistics company can help. www.ozarkraillogistics.com


Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


 Who is online

Users browsing this forum: artfull dodger, ColebrookdaleRailfan, Exabot [Bot], Google [Bot], p51, Txhighballer and 47 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: