It is currently Sun May 19, 2024 8:52 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Hazrdous Waste Issues/CERCLA/RCRA
PostPosted: Tue Nov 12, 2002 11:18 pm 

The thread below about the issue of the EPA acting against the owners of GG-1's for PCB's led me to do a little research. I'm not a lawyer, so if you think you have a problem-pay the piper. Speak to your atty and disposal experts.In the long run, doing it the right way lets you and your conscience sleep better at night.

There are two main federal laws that could impact the hazardous waste issues related to older RR equipment. There are others and state laws as well. These laws would not only cover PCB's, but such things as asbestos and lead paint.

The first is the Comprehensive Environmental Response Compensation and Liability Act. Commonly referred to as CERCLA (1980), it's also known as the "superfund law" because the creation of the superfund was a major part of the law.

It allows the EPA to order responsible parties-e.g, generators, transporters, owners at time of disposal or current owners/operators of the site to pay the entire cost of clean-up regardless of responsibility. Defenses are difficult to assert and a partially responsible party must sue other entities to recover costs from others that might bear some responsibility.

the RCRA (1976) allows the EPA to identify and list hazardous waste sites and to develop standards for the management of hazardous wastes by generators/transporters and to establish standards for the construction/operation of hazardous waste treatment storage and disposal facilities.